Eau de Forest Fire

It is hot in this desert. We haven’t hit the triple digits yet in the northern part of the state, but four forest fires burn– the Whitewater-Baldy in the Gila, the Little Bear Fire in the White Mountain Wilderness Area of  Lincoln National Forest, La Cejita near Taos, and the Jemez Ranger District near Santa Fé.

Forrest mismanagement, drought, electrical storms, and wind are the culprits. There is no taming mother nature.  She will do what she will. Someone once said, “The thing that a lot of people cannot comprehend is that Mother Nature doesn’t have a bullet with your name on it, she has millions of bullets inscribed with ‘to whom it may concern‘.” She is the great leveler–of age, of income bracket, of race. Our rains, which New Mexicans drolly call “monsoons,” will not arrive until July which leaves 1,500 forest fire fighters in the midst of these blazes. 200,000 acres have burned in the Whitewater-Baldy fire alone. Year after year I wonder how we recover. That’s one of the ignominious wonders of news reporting–one day hundreds of thousands of acres are burning and the next? A mystery because we’ve gone on to the next sensational tidbit, leaving behind the hundreds of people and animals whose lives have been unilaterally and permanently transformed or even lost.

My heart goes out to those who are affected by the fires. My gratitude lies with:

1.) Firefighters in New Mexico and all over the world. Thank you.

2.) My children, whose hearts are moved by the devastation. You are amazing, wonderful human beings.

3.) Having never been victim of fire.

4.) SCI of New Mexico

5.) My faith in my fellow human beings.

Peace, T.

About ZephyrLiving

Join me on my journey, if you like. A return to mental health. When I started with my first blog in 2011, I was three years in. Now it's 2015, and I am so much better. I though I had nothing less to lose. I was so very wrong. So arrogant--or deluded! OCD, Compulsive Hoarding Syndrome, Chronic Depression, PTSD and Histrionic Personality Disorder. A big list, a big task. I've come a long way and still have far to go. But I've built my foundation and I'm working at it every single day! Join me for some laughs, some inspiration, some hope, and support. Peace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

